Shuffling deckchairs on the Titanic…………..


Deckchair

Its admirable that councilor Lloyd has taken on the economic development situation for us in Collingwood, it really is. If he persists and actually creates a real job (not a McJob), I might even take back my “Empty Suit” handle I gave him a month or so ago, when he brought forward, then retracted, the stupid Better Together Collingwood motion. But alas, I fear that will never be the case. Moving a few offices around of various make work (for themselves) people and organizations, so that they are all in the same general vicinity to each other, has the feel of arranging deck chairs on the deck of the Titanic just prior to taking her final plunge to the depths of the Atlantic. Especially in these days of email, texting and social media. Case in point I am writing this post 250kms away and if I hadn’t mentioned it none of you would be any the wiser. I know that I can be a bit of a cynic, but doesn’t this look like a case of “I’ve done nothing for 3 years so I better start doing something if I want to get reelected next year”? Mark my words the first item on Empty Suits reelection pamphlet will be – Set up Economic Development Department at Town Hall.
I have a few ideas on how to develop business in our town, which I will post in the next day or so.

Leave a Reply

