An Englishman, a Scotsman and an Irishman walk into a bar….


Englishman

A noticed a couple of things on social media a few days ago that made me think what a dour humourless society we are turning into these days.

The first was on my Facebook feed. It was a petition to have Kevin O’Leary fired from CBC’s Dragons Den and Lang and O’Leary exchange. The following is one of the comments from one of the clucking O’Leary haters:

“This is an unapologetic, arrogant man with very little intelligent to say. He is apparently willing to insult anyone in hopes of holding on to his unfettered ‘Capitalist’ economy. This is the type of person that has helped to create the world economic disparity that is destroying the very fiber of human existence. CBC get rid of him.”

I couldn’t believe some of the vitriol in this and some of the 45 comments in the Facebook feed.

I have always thought O’Leary (Mr. Wonderful) was a bit of an ass, but at the same time I do find his shtick quite funny. I also like his message of self-reliance and entrepreneurship. But the main thing with him is it’s a show, an act, he is also completely politically incorrect in some of the statements he makes. It seems that no one can take anything with a grain of salt anymore, everything is taken so literally.

The second was in regards to my post last week about Bunkertoad. This character they have dreamed up is typical of the sort of rich, entitled, pompous ass that I delivered newspapers to when I was a boy. The picture HDG uses for him is an English actor named Terry Thomas he died in 1990 after a long battle with Parkinson’s disease and in relative poverty. The thing with Terry Thomas though is the persona of EG Bunkertoad HDG has created, is exactly the type of character he would have played over his long and illustrious acting career. But in that post I received the following rebuke from someone that I know quite well:

“I liked Terry Thomas, he died in near poverty even after having a successful career.
I am not sure you should use his image”
.

OK let’s examine this – He liked Terry Thomas, so did I – check. He died in near poverty – I covered that above – very sad – check. Very successful career – covered that as well. So because of this, why the hell should myself, The Hamilton Drain Gazette or anyone else not use Terry Thomas’s image as part of a bit of shtick 24 years after his death? I was quite surprised actually that this offended someone.

You see ladies and gentleman in these days of human rights tribunals overseen by nanny state commissars. No one is allowed to be offended by anything and it seems that everyone is offended by everything. As a society we have completely lost our sense of humour and we all have to watch what we say all the time. In writing this blog not only do I have to do a spell and grammar check (sometimes with mixed results) I also have to do a check on whether what I have written might cause offense to some thin skinned group or individual (politicians don’t count by the way).

White Anglo Saxon males seem to be OK still, so for now you can start a sentence with “An Englishman, a Scotsman and an Irishman walk into a bar”….

2 thoughts on “An Englishman, a Scotsman and an Irishman walk into a bar….

  1. You mean Bunkertoad isn’t real?
    Seriously, I think TT would have had a few chuckles before declaring “The man’s an absolute bounder!”

Leave a Reply

