I won’t attend it either.


pride

This subject is a difficult one that everyone is always afraid to discuss for fear of being labeled homophobic. I am sure I will get a backlash about it, but I believe there is a silent majority that will agree with me.

There has been a lot of talk the last couple of days about Doug Fords statement in regards to him and his brother Rob Ford not wanting to attend the Toronto gay pride parade. Here is part of what he said:

‘I don’t want to see buck naked middle aged men running down Yonge Street’.

The one issue I have with this statement is the fact that neither of the two brothers have ever said this before. They have always blamed non-attendance on a scheduling conflict. Being that pride weekend coincides with a weekend that they always spend at the family cottage. So why take 3 years to admit it? Are they now trying to appeal to some of their redneck suburban base in an election year???

Let me start by saying that I honestly don’t have a problem with gay people or gay marriage. Over the years I have known and have had some very good friends that are gay. In fact I will take that a step further I would much sooner have a friendly, law abiding gay couple living next-door to me than some of the heterosexual neighbors I have had in the past.
I have never attended any gay pride event so my knowledge of them is limited to the yearly television news stories that always cover the event. I don’t consider myself a prude, but from what I see the overt sexuality and public nudity that seems to be the central theme to this event, I think if I attended, I would find quite offensive. I would have the same opinion if it were Carabana, the Elvis parade or the Santa Clause parade. So I don’t believe I am being homophobic.

The GBLT community continues to fight for equality, which I wholeheartedly agree with. My thought though is the in your face public expressions of their lifestyle portrayed in this and other gay pride parades and events, only enforces the bigoted views of the intolerant. It also forces people like myself to want nothing to do with this parade or the people that are in it.

One thought on “I won’t attend it either.

Leave a Reply

