Gravy Train – This is what you got for your money …………..


My last “Gravy Train” post really grabbed your attention. I suppose its understandable really considering the belt tightening we will all have to do when faced with this:

http://www.theenterprisebulletin.com/2014/03/20/water-sewer-rates-on-the-rise

It’s amazing what you find when you start digging around in these web sites. But I’d like to ask, why is this information only available in the bowels of the Collus website? The last time I checked we still own half this utility and as such this information should be freely and readily available through links from the town website. Remember, the water and sewer department is actually a de facto department of the town. I am often told that I am a tad harsh, that I don’t understand the “process”. Maybe that’s the case or maybe I misunderstood the numbers. 700 people have now read that post and no one has disputed or corrected me on it. I think as homeowners in Collingwood we continue to see our water, sewer and hydro rates head towards the stratosphere unabated. As a community, we need to start asking some serious questions about how our money gets spent.

So let’s take a quick look at what we got for our $35,700. The first item below is the establishing bylaw that got this board started in the first place back in 2012. The one that was motioned by Lloyd and seconded by Lloyd and passed by council in an unrecorded vote. The other items are minutes of all the 2013 meetings of the C.P.U.S.B:

2012-096 Establishing a Public Utility MSB FINAL

May 21 2013

May 27 2013

June 14 2013 Signed

August 9 2013 Signed

October 7 2013 Signed

The first thing that jumped out at me was that the Tuesday, May 21, 2013 meeting was held at 94 Pine Street, Collingwood. Guess where that is? The Huron Club. A favorite watering hole of our town council and the other power elite in Collingwood. It was also at 4:30 p.m. (Happy hour? Or was it half price wing night???) So who picked up that tab? Somehow I find it a little hard to imagine this conversation going on at the conclusion of the meeting:
Sandra: So who had the hot wings, they were $10.95?
Ed: I had a couple of pints of Creemore and the Calamari. So with tip I’ll stick in $30.
Doug: I only had tap water. So a 20 spot should cover my bowl of soup and a burg…………..
Someone FOI that one for me? I don’t do the FOI’s I prefer my face to be anonymous at town hall.

One final comment on this:
These people hold the very best jobs and positions in our town. Most of them make “Sunshine List” type salaries with benefit packages that the rest of us working stiffs can only dream of. Why is there any kind of remuneration at all for activities involved with this board?

Just Saying!!!

2 thoughts on “Gravy Train – This is what you got for your money …………..

  1. Thank you Nobody for getting my blood boiling once again. Collus has been a thorn in many residents’ sides for many years. I too would like to know why this particular board gets remuneration. However, for there to be any change anywhere within the bowels of the Town it has to begin with Council and the CAO and we have had two CAO’s who have attempted to do this very thing and where did they end up………..sent packing!!!.
    By the way, I wonder how one (not Mr. Houghton or Mayor or Councillor) get to sit on this Board?

Leave a Reply

