Deputy Mayors Bed and Breakfast Update


It often happens with me, I start to write a post on one subject, in this case an update on the Deputy Mayors Bed and Breakfast file. Then end up writing about – let’s try and put this as delicately as possible, “irregularities” in some of the building permits and the construction of Deputy Mayor Lloyds house. I hate the fact that if this were you or I doing some of the things these people do, we would have our house crawling with building inspectors and bylaw officers.

Over 1,200 people read the first post on Rick Lloyds shenanigans and I am sure that the building department has seen a copy of the OMB appeal statement. So I wonder if they are planning on following up on this situation now that it’s very public.

I decided if I am to write about this Bed and Breakfast, I better take a drive over to Craigleith Court and see what it looks like. I thought maybe it’s the whole nimby thing and it’s a perfect spot for a B and B. The following is the Google street view from the road in front of the house:

https://www.google.ca/maps/@44.515101,-80.281989,3a,75y,140.11h,63.69t/data=!3m4!1e1!3m2!1sFfIylkDXasdTSm47Eyci3w!2e0!6m1!1e1?hl=en

As you can see it’s a cul-de-sac which doesn’t really bode well for a Bed and Breakfast. Its very quiet. I sat in my car for 10 minutes making a couple of phone calls and not one car or person came in or out of the cul-de-sac. I wanted to be objective, so if I had honestly thought that this was a good spot for a bed and breakfast I would say so whether it was the Deputy Mayor or not. But I can quite honestly say this is not a suitable location for such an establishment. I am not surprised that 70% of the local residents are against it. With all the extra traffic and the inevitable people wondering around.
As I said in my last post 3 people have appealed the councils decision to the OMB. Which will be held in council chambers at 10am 17th July 2014. I posted one of the protagonists statements yesterday.

From what I am hearing the OMB doesn’t like to get too involved with overriding decisions made by a local municipality where the main complaint is property values decreasing. This is why it is important that you have a town council in place that does not just look after the interests of one of their own. They make solid decisions based on what is best for the community as a whole.
One of the aspects that should definitely have been considered is the following information: There are 7 bed and breakfasts in the Town of Collingwood. 4 of them are located in the downtown core and three are located on acreage. None are located in residential sub division type areas. Also the Town of Blue Mountain has now put in place a bylaw that does allow bed and breakfasts. But you have to get a permit based on the property getting a site plan review. Which looks at things like building permit infractions, illegal non permitted construction, off street parking, placement of garbage containers and whether it is a suitable location for such a business on a case by case basis.

Our town council would not even make Rick Lloyd get a site plan review.

I will do a final update on this situation after the OMB hearing.

Leave a Reply

